Learning the Words: Beauty (Guest Post at Defeating the Dragons)

I’m overjoyed to announce that today I have a guest post up at one of my all-time favorite blogs, Defeating the Dragons. It’s on the nature of beauty and how I learned to embrace the goodness of God in all created things. Here’s an excerpt:

I can never fully convey the freedom I felt the first time it occurred to me that a song didn’t have to mention Jesus a certain number of times in order to honor him. The elegant lament of a French horn, the spirited clamor of castanets, the saxophone’s hopeless wail are all good in themselves because they reflect something in God’s heart, because Jesus is the incarnation of the reason by which the universe is woven and ordered, and music, good music, is inherently rational, and beautiful, and good.

You can read the whole thing here.

Leave a Reply

